What a Court-Martial Conviction Costs: Punishments and Lasting Consequences

On this page

A court-martial sentence is not one thing. Several of its effects are not imposed by the court at all: they follow automatically from the sentence by operation of statute, on a date the Code fixes, without anyone deciding them separately.

This page separates the two. First, what a court-martial may adjudge and the limits on it. Second, the consequences that attach by statute once a sentence exists, which is the part the title calls lasting.

It does not state what any offense carries, and it does not tell anyone what a sentence will mean for them.

Who sets the ceiling, and who sets the floor

Article 56 puts the maximum in the President’s hands and then writes some minimums into the statute itself.

“(a) Sentence Maximums.—The punishment which a court-martial may direct for an offense may not exceed such limits as the President may prescribe for that offense.”

Source: 10 U.S.C. 856 (Article 56), subsection (a).

So the maximum for any given offense is regulatory, not statutory, and it lives in the Manual for Courts-Martial, which this page did not open.

Minimums work the other way. Article 56(b)(1) provides that, except as Article 53a allows, punishment for the offenses it then lists “shall include dismissal or dishonorable discharge, as applicable.” The listed offenses are identified by statutory reference: rape and sexual assault under Article 120(a) and (b), rape and sexual assault of a child under Article 120b(a) and (b), and attempts and conspiracies to commit them.

That is a mandatory separation from the service written into the Code.

The forum caps, before anything else

A court cannot exceed its own forum’s ceiling regardless of the offense. Article 19 bars a special court-martial from adjudging death, dishonorable discharge, dismissal, confinement beyond one year, or forfeiture of pay beyond stated limits. Article 20 caps a summary court-martial far lower, at no more than one month’s confinement and no punitive discharge at all.

Those ceilings are worked through in subject-matter jurisdiction. The point here is ordering: the forum cap applies first, then the offense maximum.

Reduction in grade, which the court does not have to order

Article 58a is the clearest example of a consequence that attaches by statute rather than by sentence.

“(a) A court-martial sentence of an enlisted member in a pay grade above E-1, as set forth in the judgment of the court-martial entered into the record under section 860c of this title (article 60c), that includes— (1) a dishonorable or bad-conduct discharge; (2) confinement; or (3) hard labor without confinement; reduces that member to pay grade E-1, if such a reduction is authorized by regulation prescribed by the President. The reduction in pay grade shall take effect on the date on which the judgment is so entered.”

Source: 10 U.S.C. 858a (Article 58a), subsection (a).

Read the verb, and then read the condition attached to it. The sentence “reduces that member to pay grade E-1”, but only “if such a reduction is authorized by regulation prescribed by the President.” So no separate command order is needed and the trigger is any one of three sentence components; what the statute does require is a standing presidential regulation, and this page did not open that regulation. The effective date is the date the judgment is entered into the record.

Subsection (b) supplies the reverse: if the sentence is set aside or reduced, or as finally affirmed does not include a punishment named in (a)(1) to (a)(3), the rights and privileges lost are restored.

Forfeiture of pay, also automatic

Article 58b operates on the same model.

“(a)(1) A court-martial sentence described in paragraph (2) shall result in the forfeiture of pay, or of pay and allowances, due that member during any period of confinement or parole.”

Source: 10 U.S.C. 858b (Article 58b), subsection (a)(1).

Two details matter. The forfeiture runs “during any period of confinement or parole”, so it is tied to a status rather than to a fixed term. And the amount differs by forum: in a general court-martial it is “all pay and allowances due that member during such period”; in a special court-martial the statute sets a lesser figure.

Timing is set by cross-reference: the forfeiture “shall take effect on the date determined under section 857 of this title (article 57) and may be deferred as provided in that section.”

When two sentences run together, and when they stack

A conviction on several specifications can produce several terms of confinement, and whether they run at the same time or one after another is worth more to an accused than most single figures. The Code leaves it to the Manual, and the rule was rewritten on 20 December 2024.

“(2) Concurrent or Consecutive Terms of Confinement. (A) If a sentence includes more than one term of confinement, the military judge shall determine whether the terms of confinement will run concurrently or consecutively. For each term of confinement, the military judge shall state whether the term of confinement is to run concurrently or consecutively with any other term or terms of confinement. (B) The terms of confinement for two or more specifications shall run concurrently— (i) when each specification involves the same victim and the same act or transaction; (ii) when provided for in a plea agreement; (iii) when the accused is found guilty of two or more specifications and the military judge finds that the charges or specifications are unreasonably multiplied; or (iv) in a special court-martial, to the extent necessary to prevent the total confinement from exceeding the maximum confinement authorized under R.C.M. 201(f)(2).”

Source: Executive Order 14130, 20 December 2024, Annex, amending the Manual for Courts-Martial.

Read the verbs, because they are different in each half.

The judge must decide, and must say so. Subsection (A) requires a determination and a statement for each term. Silence is not an option the rule leaves open.

Four situations make concurrency mandatory. “Shall run concurrently” is not discretion. Same victim and same act or transaction; a plea agreement that provides for it; a finding that the charges are unreasonably multiplied; and, in a special court-martial, whatever is needed to keep the total inside that forum’s own ceiling.

Everything else is discretionary. Outside those four, the rule gives the judge broad discretion.

The third trigger connects to something argued earlier in a case. Where a military judge finds an unreasonable multiplication of charges and the remedy belongs at the sentence rather than at the findings, R.C.M. 906(b)(12)(B) sends it here: the affected terms run concurrently. A motion made before trial can therefore decide how a sentence is served, and pretrial motions is where that motion lives.

Where confinement is served

Article 58 answers a question that surprises people who assume military confinement means a military facility.

“(a) Under such instructions as the Secretary concerned may prescribe, a sentence of confinement adjudged by a court-martial or other military tribunal, whether or not the sentence includes discharge or dismissal, and whether or not the discharge or dismissal has been executed, may be carried into execution by confinement in any place of confinement under the control of any of the armed forces or in any penal or correctional institution under the control of the United States, or which the United States may be allowed to use.”

Source: 10 U.S.C. 858 (Article 58), subsection (a).

The same subsection states the treatment rule for that case: persons confined in an institution not under the control of an armed force “are subject to the same discipline and treatment as persons confined or committed by the courts of the United States” or of a State or the District of Columbia.

The lasting part, and the honest limit on describing it

A general or special court-martial conviction is a federal criminal conviction, and the consequences that follow from that status are created by other bodies of law: firearms eligibility, immigration consequences, occupational licensing, benefits eligibility, and how the conviction appears in background checks.

None of those statutes was opened for this page, and this page does not state what any of them provides. Naming the category is honest; describing its content without the source would not be.

Two consequences that are inside the Code can be stated. A punitive discharge or dismissal is part of the sentence and appears in the judgment. And reduction to E-1 under Article 58a attaches on the date of entry of judgment, which means a pay grade can change before any appeal is resolved.

One thing outside the Code is worth separating from conviction entirely: being titled or indexed in a law-enforcement record is not a conviction and does not require one. That distinction belongs to DoD directives in military justice.

What this page does not decide

What any offense carries. Maximums are prescribed by the President under Article 56(a), in a document this page did not open.

What collateral consequences apply to a person. Those come from statutes outside the Code, none of which was opened.

Whether a sentence will be reduced on review. The appellate structure is in after a court-martial conviction, and outcomes are not predictable from the Code.

Where to go from here

Who sentences in which forum is in inside a court-martial trial. Where a plea agreement limits the sentence, the mechanism is in arraignment.

Sources

What this page did not open. The Manual for Courts-Martial was not opened, and every offense maximum lives there. No statute creating a collateral consequence of a federal conviction was opened, which is why this page names that category rather than describing it. No court decision was opened.

Checked on 19 September 2026, and checked for currency as well as for accuracy. Every statutory provision cited on this page was traced to the current United States Code: where a provision has not been amended since the 2023 edition, that edition’s text is the current text and its amendment record was read to confirm it; where a provision was amended by Pub. L. 118–159 (23 December 2024) or Pub. L. 119–60 (18 December 2025), the current text is quoted above and the amending Act is named beside it. The two Acts’ own texts were read to establish the complete list of provisions in this chapter that they changed. This was done through the Cornell mirror of the Code and through the Acts as published by the Government Publishing Office; the House preliminary Code could not be reached from here, so no third source confirms it. No independent expert review has taken place yet, and this page says so rather than implying one.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *